COVID-19 parking and transit updates
The following rules and regulations were established by the University as a standard for the parking programs. Faculty, staff, students and visitors are urged to read these regulations.
The Director of Transportation Services may exercise discretion to deal with special circumstances not covered by these regulations.
In developing these regulations, Transportation Services is guided by the Texas Motor Vehicle Laws and the Texas Education Code 51.202.
The regulations apply to all vehicles on campus and are in effect at all times.
Transportation Services, along with the University Police Department, has jurisdiction to enforce or impound any vehicle in violation of the regulations.
The owner of the vehicle will be required to pay the cost of release, relocation and/or storing the vehicle. The Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts requires all state agencies and institutions of higher education to report entities with a debt to the state. Any citation with a balance due that is older than 120 days will follow this process and be placed on state hold.
Effective September 1, 2016, Transportation Services will begin using a third party collection agency to help collect unpaid parking citation balances.
Current students will not be included in this process. Citations issued since September 1, 2015, and left unpaid for longer than 60 days will be turned over to the collection agency.
The following statement is included in our 15 day and monthly citation letters: "If the amount due is not paid within 60 days of the citation date, your balance will be transferred to a third party collection agency." The Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts requires all state agencies and institutions of higher education to report entities with a debt to the state. Any citation with a balance due that is older than 120 days will follow this process and be placed on state hold.